Posted in Life Growth

I reached a milestone in my follower count, and now I wish I hadn’t.

There’s immense satisfaction in getting validation. Be it internally, or externally, when you’re looking for validation, and you get it, the feeling rocks. A year ago, I was at a peak of creative juice flowing my hands when I wrote. I started this blog, and was feeling pumped with being consistent and churning out great content. For a while, I was actually able to post blogs I was proud of. As a harsh critic, those moments come very rarely.

Although this might sound like self-praise, in my defense, I found several people following me, and then I reached the number. 20 new follows. That was 11 more followers than my previous blog, and it felt so great! I would attribute part of my success to the title of my blogs. I’ve been looking up marketing techniques on social media, and found myself creatively being able to write hooking titles. But that was just the thing. This blog was coming so naturally to me, I didn’t feel the need to market it.

Now that I had several new followers, my confidence level started to dip. What if I couldn’t write content that upheld this level of quality anymore? A month passed. Then three months passed. Finally, a year almost passed, and now I’m at this point where I’m like if I don’t even attempt to write, I will definitely not be able to keep up the quality.

My attempt to get back into writing comes from an influencer’s post where she suggested that if you’re an overthinker, just write. I think she meant writing in a journal, but I don’t think there’s any point writing if you can’t share it with people. If you remember, I like to share useful stuff. And I think the being “useful” part is probably what created the mind block, because I was afraid my content would no longer be useful.

I honestly don’t know why so many of you followed this blog, but I really appreciate it, and hope that, with time, you come to find this blog of some use! If there’s something you would like me to try or talk about, please let me know or comment below and I can look into it.

In my next blog, you’ll find out what I’m currently up to, and what I have planned for the next few months! Looking forward to hearing from you soon!